Activate Your Life!

Knowledge is powerful ~ ~ Experience is meaningful ~ ~ So,Cherish every moment! ~ ~

Follow your passion?

Dear All,

Today is Sunday and I don’t want to think much about my study, sometimes I need to take my mind off research. So, let’s talk about passion.. Many people say that we should follow our passion, do what we love and the money will follow.. Well.. some people think that is a bad advice.. I didn’t say that.. but Cal Newport (a computer scientist, avid researcher, prolific reader, author) mentioned that in his book entitled So Good They Can’t Ignore You: Why Skills Trump Passion in the Quest for Work You Love. I have not read this book yet, but my husband and brother-in-law read it, and enjoy his writing.. they really like all his books. These are some opinion of Cal Newport, read his book to discover more about his thoughts/idea/opinion 🙂

  • Most people who end up living passionate lives, didn’t start by following their passions; instead, they focussed first on developing rare and valuable skills to a very high level.
  • While they ended up living unconventional lives, many of them often followed conventional paths, like college and grad school, followed by a career.
  • “The path to a passionate life is often way more complex than the simple advice ‘follow your passion’ would suggest.”
  • Passion comes after you put in the hard work to become excellent at something valuable, not before. In other words, what you do for a living is much less important than how you do it… So.. what is your opinion??

Slide1

I read his previous book on study skills (recommended by my husband and his brother, Amchik); ‘How To Become a Straight-A Student: The Unconventional Strategies Real College Students Use to Score High While Studying Less’. This book is really good for university students, so to those who are studying, go and grab one! There are lots of brilliant ideas, tips, advice and many other inspiring words from him.. so what you need to do is to apply and practice it! I am sure it will help you a lot in your study! I guarantee it can lead you to be a top university student, not only in academic, but you will also enjoy your university social life and perhaps become a leader in a society/clubs/etc or involve in many campus activities.. in a nut shell.. you will be doing great and have an amazing university life! What you need is a positive thinking and attitude! My advise is, be proactive, and enjoy your university life, you will have an amazing journey of 3-4 years of your study life, without realizing it! Enjoy it as much as you can..’enjoy’ here means, do your best in your study and yet get involve in many campus activities which are very exciting and fun! I did it and I really had fun during my undergraduate study in UMS, Sabah and my postgrad study in Massey Univ, NZ. And now here I am.. doing research in UCL, and enjoy my study here and love the research environment in my institute, Institute of Child Health, UCL. Alhamdulillah. Well.. it will be a long journey for me. What I really need now is ‘persistent and perseverance’, that is the most powerful tools for PhD student. 

Alright, enough about academic.. he he he… my friend, Faiz posted an entry about ‘your dream job’ 2 years ago : If money didn’t matter.. what jobs would you consider pursuing?

I would like to add more; if location/family/whatever_that_you_think_you_need_to_consider did not matter as well.. so what would you love to do/be? Here is my so-called ‘dream jobs’ hihihi..

1st) I would love to be a diver, a master scuba diver! I wish I can dive in all beautiful dive sites around the world! I should study marine biologist! It is not too late, am I? So that I can become a diver and also a scientist/researcher!

dive1 dive2

Photos by David Doubilet

2nd) Expedition leader/organizer/guide (related to nature and outdoor activities only!)

Hee… my friends said that I am good in organizing and planning outdoor trips. Am I? Lakshmi, you there? hehe I guess I really want and really hope that everyone enjoy the trip/activity.

friends2

Left : Tongariro crossing trip!  Right: Photo from HERE!

3rd) Craftsman/Artisan/(Handyman?)

Hehe.. need to be tough I guess.. and have good skills!

Photos from 123RF page

Photos from 123RF page

Well.. did you expect that? those ‘dream jobs’ of mine? hehehe.. So.. what is yours??

Ok folks, thanks for visiting my blog! Do your very best in everything you do!

Live to win, dare to fail. Squeeze your day, carpe diem baby!

22 Comments

  1. jingga

    Salam, ehem2…plan a trip to explore europe?? hehe

    • huserk

      Salam In. No In, so far, I have no interest in touring Europe hehe.. in fact, I never have interest in visiting Europe, I come here totally for UCL, I wish UCL is in Canada or New Zealand.. hehehe so that I can do plenty of outdoor activities, but not in London. Haha..but the study environment here is very encouraging and inspiring! I will tell more in the next entry.

  2. Hey, carpe diem bukan “seize” your day ke? Hehe. Haven’t been here in a while. I agree with a lot of your points and disagree with some as well. I don’t know whether you’ve seen this but if you haven’t, you might like it. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8nif01WZ9aI

    Anyway, all the best for your research Kak Husna. Suddenly I remembered your quote, “Steps follow where the heart goes.”

    • huserk

      Lutfi, hehe bawah tu lirik metallica lagu carpe diem baby. It is ok to agree or disagree, i did not give my opinion, it is just a review about cal newport thoughts/ideas/research. Many people argue on this too. In my opinion, if we work hard and also have passion on it, we will do much more better. It depends, try to listen to his talk if you have time : http://vimeo.com/48041227 I just watched the video link that you gave, yeah some are true in my opinion, but some is arguable. Hehe.. masih ingat my quote.. well.. i’m still following my heart now. hehe thanks 🙂

  3. Lakshmi

    I’m here! You are an inspiration 🙂

    • huserk

      you are my best buddy!!

  4. naz hb

    betoi serk..just this morning I was thinking about my ‘real’ dream..and im going to go for it,definitely someday.its never too late to begin rite :). good luck to you my coolest fren eva!

    • huserk

      Wah.. apa real dream tu.. curiousnya.. is it comic author/artist or poets? hehe share2 Anyway, all the best with your study, my dear coolest and kelakarest friend!

      • Naz Hb

        hahaha…to open my very own cafe bookstore! insya Allah 🙂

      • huserk

        wahh mnarewk.. best idea tu.. jual la eskrem msia mak hang skali.. lagi laku! heheh moga success amin..

  5. kak

    ten years ago i said to best friend that i just want to stay home and raise a family… keja byk penat… lol that came true but is more tiring than 9-5 work lol… if its not too late i want to be a graphic designer InshaAllah that is one thing that even eating is like kacau daun jer, but still long way, but i do enjoy the learning process tremendously. that is one thing that i think i don’t mind doing even if i am not paid for it. soooo different that what i set out my plans to live my life twenty years ago, gone off tangent so many degrees. Allah is the best planner Alhamdulillah.

    • huserk

      Not too late kak!! I can see your creativity! Semua cantik dan ralit tgok kak design poster2. Keep on design and conteng2 on your monitor!

  6. karimkayu

    Next stop, Annapurna 🙂

    • huserk

      Let’s get fit, gear up and ready to go!

  7. Anak Kak Kiah

    “I would like to add more; if location/family/whatever_that_you_think_you_need_to_consider did not matter as well.. so what would you love to do/be? Here is my so-called ‘dream jobs’ hihihi..”

    Lepas aku p siem reap, melawat kampung melayu champa + stateless children at school of hope, mabul…aku selalu pikiaq alangkah baguihnya kalau dapat peluang masuk ke dalam pendalaman dalam dalam…tempat yang komputer pun depa tak pernah tengok….dan ajaq bebudak ni guna komputer…etc….

    atau, jadi yatch skipper …. atau……aktif dalam pertanian, macam tanaman serai atau taugeh(yup…dua ni ja…aku nak tanam serai dan taugeh)…macam2 dalam list….hahahhaa….dahsyat sangat nak cerita….hahahaha….

    all the best weh!

    -Lynd-

  8. huserk

    Lynddd… hehe never too late! hehe join lah unicef msia.. or unicef world.. byk volunteering activity hang ble involve.. yg kat pedalaman2 punya.. tanam serai byk2 then juai kat ofismate hehehe.. all the best to you too!!!

  9. I used to dream to travel to the Silk road. One day maybe, for good purpose?

    • huserk

      jommm.. one day cik… mcm besttt

  10. ” Most people who end up living passionate lives, didn’t start by following their passions; instead, they focussed first on developing rare and valuable skills to a very high level.”

    Can agree more. How to explore, when you don’t even know the “how’s” in the first place, kan? Hehe. So.. dah ready karpet merah nak sambut aku? Hehehehehe…

    • CANT agree more, actually. Hehehe.

    • husna

      Indeed~! Weyhh, mai lah explore bumi baru..byk pengalaman dan ilmu dpt ditimba inshaAllah.. get ready… set…???

      • Ready, yet not set. Hehe. Sat naaa.. dua bulan dari hari ni. hehehehehe~

Leave a Reply

